Kerala Center presents annual awards for notable contributions

Kerala Center Awardees, from l. to r. P.T. Paulose, Bindiya Sabarinath, Thomas Joy and Jose Kaniyaly. Photo: courtesy Kerala Center

The Kerala Center in New York held its 30th Annual Awards Banquet at its auditorium in Elmont, NY on Saturday, October 22, 2022.  Six individuals were recognized for their “notable contributions in their professions and to the society with their selfless dedication,” a press release from the organization said.

The honorees included Jose Kaniyaly, executive editor and Partner of Kerala Express weekly newspaper, for his contributions to Malayalam Media and Journalism; Thomas Joy, police officer and president of the American Malayalee Law Enforcement United (AMLEU), for Public Service; Bindiya Sabarinath, founder of Mayura School of Arts, for achievements in the category of Performing Arts and P. T. Paulose, for contributions to Pravasi Malayalam Literature.

Dr. Javad Hassan, Chairman of NeST Group, who won the award for Corporate Leadership and Dr. Silvester Noronha of MIT, in the category of Applied Science, were unable to attend and accept the awards due to personal circumstances.

Kerala Center President Alex K. Esthappan, who welcomed everyone and provided a brief description of the activities and goals of the Kerala Center. Indian Consul for Trade and Commerce, Manish Kulhary, was the chief guest. New York State Senators Kevin Thomas and Anna Kaplan presented the awards.

Dignitaries and Kerala Center Officials at the Banquet, from l. to r.: Indian Consul Maish Kulhary, Senator Anna Kaplan, Senator Kevin Thomas, Kerala Center President Alex Esthappan, Trustee Board Chairman Dr. Thomas Abraham and Directors Board Chairman Dr. Madhu Bhaskaran. Photos: Kerala Center

Chief Guest, India’s Trade and Commerce Consul Manish Kulhary talked of his relationship with Keralites from his childhood as his teachers in his school in Rajasthan were Malayalees.  He praised Kerala for its achievement in education and healthcare, and also praised the Kerala Center for honoring individuals who excelled in their professions and serving the society with dedication.

Awardees with Kerala Center officials, distinguished guests and past awardees. Photo: Kerala Center

James Thottam was the chairman of the Award Dinner. Board members Abraham Thomas, Mathew Vazhappally and John Paul coordinated the event.  The emcee of the program was Daisy Palliparambil. The songs sung by Bincy Cherian, Indian classical dance performed by Maya Devi of Mayura School of Arts and Brazilian dance performed by Beena made the awards night a more colorful one, organizers said in the press release.

Performers at the Banquet, Indian Classical Dance, left, and Belly Dancing, right. Photos: Kerala Center


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here