Global Association of Physicians of Indian Origin (GAPIO) honors high-achieving members

Collage of some of those who were recognzied, with GAPIO LOGO. Photo collage prodced by News India Times

The Global Association of Physicians of Indian Origin, GAPIO, has named members of the organization deserving honors for their achievements in 2021.

In order to recognize the achievements and contribution of GAPIO members to healthcare, academics, research, innovation and community locally or internationally across the globe, Global Association of Physicians of Indian Origin (GAPIO) has started circulation of a Monthly Honors’ list beginning from the month of July 2021, the organization said in a press release, Dec. 29, 2021.

The monthly honors list covers the achievements of GAPIO members under the following categories:

  1. Any kind of Awards won at National and International level
  2. Academic honors such as appointment as an Examiner/ Guide for PhD, MCh and DM candidates/ Fellows etc.
  3. Fellowships conferred
  4. Exceptional clinical achievements such as the first in the region/ state/ country
  5. Elected position to professional bodies (Medical associations/ Doctors’ associations/ Specialty associations)
  6. Paper publications in indexed peer reviewed journal
  7. Book/s published/ edited
  8. Chapter/s contributed to books
  9. Community service camps organized
  10. Any charitable activity
  11. Any unique procedure/ Innovation in surgery/ Diagnostics / Radiology and Radiation therapy or in any medical or surgical specialty
  12. Clinical honors such as appointment as an Advisor to the prestigious organizations / Governments

The current Honors’ list includes the achievements of GAPIO members from the previous two calendar months. It includes New Jersey-based Padma Shri recipient Dr. Sudhir Parikh, chairman of Parikh Worldwide Media which publishes Desi Talk and News India Times.

Following is the list of GAPIO member- physicians honored:

Sudhir M. Parikh

Padma Shri Dr. Sudhir M. Parikh, Chairman of the Center for Asthma & Allergy Associates of Murray Hill, New Jersey, Chairman & Publisher-Parikh World Wide Media, ITV Gold (24/7 TV Channel) and Life Global, Patron Trustee and Senior Advisor of AAPI Charitable Foundation, Awardee – Pravasi Bharatiya Samman and Secretary General of Global Association of Physicians of Indian Origin (GAPIO), has been honoured with “Human Rights Leader of the Year Award” by New York City Administration and President of Manhattan Borough on December 10, 2021

Arun Prasad

Dr. Arun Prasad, President of Obesity Surgery Society of India (OSSI), 2018-20 and President of International MGB-OAGB Club for Bariatric Surgery was invited as a Faculty for the FALS Bariatric 2021 Conference held at Kolkata from 3rd to 5th December 2021. He has also been invited to be part of the examining team for MRCS Part B OSCE – Delhi Hybrid – 17 January 2022.

Ashish Aneja

Dr. Ashish Aneja, Internal Medicine consultant from Kurukshetra, India, received ‘Best Doctor in Diabetes Care’ award 2021 from RSSDI during Annual Conference of RSSDI 2021.

Jugal Kishor Sharma

 Dr. Jugal Kishor Sharma, Medical Director, Central Delhi Diabetes Centre, New Delhi conferred with ‘Honorary Doctor of Science (D.Sc. Honoris Causa)’ by Hemwati Nandan Bahugana Uttrakhand Medical Education University, Dehradun, state government university of Uttarakhand in the convocation held on December 6, 2021 at Dehradun.

N Ramakrishnan

Dr. N Ramakrishnan, Director, Critical Care Services, Senior Consultant in Critical Care & Sleep Medicine, Chennai and his team has published the following article in journal Wellcome Open Research in November 2021: Impact of COVID-19 on non-COVID intensive care unit service utilization, case mix and outcomes: A registry-based analysis from India.

Rajesh Taneja

Dr. (Prof) Rajesh Taneja, Senior Consultant and Advisor, Urology Andrology and Robotic Surgery at Delhi, delivered a guest lecture on “Treatment of Interstitial Cystitis in 2021” during the session of 41st Congress of the Société Internationale d’Urologie (SIU), held in conjunction with the 10th Emirates International Urological Conference of the Emirates Urological Society (EUS) from November 10–14, 2021 in Dubai, United Arab Emirates.

Raju Vaishya

Dr. (Prof.) Raju Vaishya, Sr. Consultant Orthopedic Surgeon at New Delhi has been elected as an Editorial Board Member of International Orthopaedics (SICOT) – A prestigious and high-impact Orthopaedic journal. Dr. Raju Vaishya has also published several articles in respected medical journals.

Ramesh Mehta

Dr. Ramesh Mehta, UK, OBE, a renowned pediatrician of national and international repute, Fellow of RCPCH, Founder President of the British Association of Physicians of Indian Origin (BAPIO) and immediate past President of the Global Association of Physicians of Indian Origin (GAPIO), has been felicitated by Organizing Committee of International Conference of COMHAD and BAPIO UK for delivering Late Dr. VR Pandurangi oration with scroll of Honour on December 12, 2021.

Sudhakar Jonnalagadda


Dr. Sudhakar Jonnalagadda, Immediate Past President of the American Association of Physicians of Indian Origin (AAPI), has been formally conferred with “Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award (PBSA)” by the Consul General of India, Atlanta Dr. Swati Kulkarni at a ceremony on December 1, 2021. His award was first announced.during the 16th edition of the Annual Pravasi Bharatiya Divas (PBD) Convention, held virtually on January 9th, 2021.

Tarun Gupta

Dr. Tarun Gupta, Consultant General and Laparoscopic Surgeon at HIMSR and HAHC Hospital,  New Delhi has been awarded the “IMA NDB Award of Excellence” from Indian Medical Association New Delhi Branch on the occasion of IMA New Delhi Branch Accolade Convention held on November 14,2021 at Indian international Centre, New Delhi. He was also

selected as First Time Ever Executive Committee Representative from Department of General Surgery at Hamdard Institute of Medical Sciences and Research (HIMSR) and HAHC Hospital to the Delhi State Chapter of the Association of Surgeons of India and ratified in the GBM at SURGICON 2021 on Nov. 21, 2021 at IHC.

Varadaraj Velamoor

Dr. Varadaraj Velamoor, Professor of Psychiatry, Western, Lakehead, and Laurentian Universities, Canada, has published the following article with fellow experts: “Symptom Frequencies and Correlations with Temperature Variations in Suspected Cases of Neuroleptic Malignant Syndrome (NMS)” published in European Journal of Medical and Health Sciences, November 2021.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here