Long Island Indo-American Lions Club brings in new leadership

Photos above and below, The Long Island Indo-American Lions Club held an event June 22, 2022, to bring in the new executive leadership, give awards and recognition of several members and induct new members. Photos: courtesy Long Island Indo-American Lions Club

The Indo-American Lions Club of Long Island held an “Installation Ceremony” ceremony June 22, 2022, in which many members were recognized with awards and the new leadership team was inducted.

PDG-T.J. Anand, PDG-Anthony Paradiso, Immediate past district governor-Terri Oster attended the meeting emceed by Anju Sharma, who welcomed all and highlighted the accomplishments of the club, a press release from the organization said.

Established 3 years ago, the Long Island club has done significant social service to help the community during the pandemic for those in need.

The membership of the club has risen from 34 to 118 since its founding, and its members have received the most Melvin Jones Awards, the press release said.

President Indu Gajwani’s leadership and service was recognized at the event. Krishna Maddipatla was awarded “ Lion of The Year”  and Community Service Awards were presented to Kanak Golia,

Nand Panjwani, Bobby Patel, Jay Shah, Anil Shah, Naveen Shah and  Gary Sikka.

Anju Sharma and Sanju Sharma were recognized with the Excellent Leadership Award. Rita Shah, Gobind Bathija, Nimesh Shah, Vijay Shah, Saurabh Seth, Pradeep Gosalia, Poojaa Makhijani, Dr. Kalpesh Amin,Dr. Yogendra Saxena, Pawan Singla, Dr. Usha Tandon, Sital Shah, Yogini Oza, Madhu Pareek,Vandana Kumar received Recognition Awards for their services for the club.

Sanjiv Jindal represented the office of Senator Anna Kaplan and Citations were presented to Kanak Golia, Krishna Maddipatla,  Anju Sharma, Dr. Sunil Mehra, Rita Shah, Sanju Sharma, Indu Gajwani & Shyam Gajwani for their outstanding services.

Shyam Gijwani ‘LCIF officer’ was appreciated and recognized for his support and dedication throughout the years. Outgoing President Indu Gajwani was awarded ‘Excellent Performance Award’ for outstanding work within short period of time.

Thirty eight new members were inducted at installation ceremony. President Indu Gajwani introduced the incoming president for 2022-2023, Dr. Sunil Mehra, handing him the Lions Bell and Gavel. She also promised to continue her support to the club.

The Executive committee of 2022-2023 was announced by Dr. Sunil Mehra. Kanak Golia, Gobind Bathija, Nimesh Shah & Anju Sharma were announced as Vice Presidents. Sanju Sharma Secretary and Vijay Shah Treasurer for the upcoming year.  Krishna Maddipatla, Dr. Kalpesh Amin, Saurbh Seth, Nand Panjwani, And Dr. Abhay Malhotra will serve as  Board of Directors.

Dr. Mehra promised to continue to serve the community and urged members to work together to keep club at “ Number One” position. Vote of thanks was given by Secretary Nimesh ‘Bunty’ Shah. The program ended with a Bollywood dance performance and the floor was open for attendees to join.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here