IOCUSA restructures organization, appoints new leaders, and protests disqualification of Rahul Gandhi

Sam Pitroda being felicitated at the April 1, 2023 meeting of the IOCUSA in Long Island, NY. Photo: IOCUSA

Indian Overseas Congress, USA, an advocacy organization for democracy and freedom in India, held a meeting in Long Island, N.Y., April 1, 2023, where it appointed new leadership and restructured the organization. It also held a protest against the disqualification of Rahul Gandhi from Lok Sabha following his conviction in a defamation case. The supporters held placards that said ‘save democracy, save India’, ‘Modi-Adani Bhai Bhai’, ‘Adani & 20,000 Crores Rs’, and ‘Rahul Gandhi Zindabad’ and shouted the slogans.

Delegates from ten states were present—over one-hundred-chapter delegates of IOCUSA attended, the organization said in a press release.

Delegates from around US at the April 1, 2023 meeting of the IOCUSA, protesting the disqualification of Rahul Gandhi in India. Photo: IOCUSA

The keynote address was delivered by Sam Pitroda, chairman of the Indian Overseas Congress, who challenged the conviction of Rahul Gandhi as an overreach, and expansion of control over various institutions in India.  “We are in a situation where the 2024 election becomes very important for the country. It is the idea of India we are fighting.”

Pitroda also emphasized the importance of “recalibrating collaborative efforts to canvass, educate, and respond to the electorate in India on what they are looking for from their elected representatives,” the press release said.

Pitroda appointed five regional new working presidents to cover the five zones that he had delineated of the USA for this purpose: Working President, North-East Zone – Pradeep Samala; Working President, South-East Zone – Dr. Sajan Kurian; Working President, South-West Zone – Srivatsa Ramanathan; Working President, Mid-West Zone – Kulraj S. Grewal; Working President, West Coast Zone. – Mr. Devenderpal S. Bhullar.

Other Changes/Appointments: Vice President, Community Liaison – Rajendar Dichpally; Chairman, Disciplinary Committee -Gurmit Gill; Chairman, Membership Committee -Nikhil Thagadur; Chairman, Social Media Committee- Avinash Dandiya; General Secretary -Sandeep Vangala; General Secretary -Balinder Singh Kundu.

Numerous individuals spoke at the meeting criticizing the developing political scene in India and discussing the upcoming 2024 elections. Among them were Secretary General Mohinder Singh Gilzian, George Abraham, vice-chairman, Minhaj Khan, Gurmit Singh Gill, Pradeep Samala, John Joseph, Rajendar Dichpally, Balinder Singh Kundu, Dr. Dayan Naik, Sabu Sakaria, Pavan Darsi, Gurinderpal Singh, Gurpreet Singh, Amel Singh, Gulshan Singh Ghotra, Sharath Chandra, Gourishankar Ranganagoudra, Dr.Jayesh Patel, Devindarpal Bhullar, Kulraj Grewal, Srivatsa Ramanathan, Sharod Chandra, Johnson Myalil, Sukhy Dho, Verghese Pothanikadu, Zinda Singh and Pappy Badosh.

Krishna Sree Gandham and Sharath Chandra Vemuganti sang the Indian National Anthem, Secretary Secretary-General Harbachan Singh, Master of Ceremony, declared the event open.

Pitroda bestowed “The Chairman’s” award upon Secretary General Harbachan Singh Esq., for his “untiring efforts and outstanding performances.”



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here