AAPI announces new leadership for 2022-2023

AAPI convention banner. Photo AAPI Convention website at aapiconvention.org

The American Association of Physicians of Indian Origin, AAPI, with headquarters in Chicago, announced April 10, 2022, its new leadership for the coming year – 2022-2023. The gavel will be formally handed over during the June convention in San Antonio, Texas.

Dr. Anupama Gotimukula, current president of AAPI, and AAPI’s Chief Election Officer and Immediate Past Chair BOT Dr. Sajani Shah, jointly announced that the elections had been conducted successfully and thanked those responsible for conducting them – viz. Dr. Seema Arora, Dr. Sharad Lakhanpal, Dr. Sunita Kanumury, Dr. Arun Pramanik, Dr. Ashok Jain, and all the members for participating in the process.

After months-long campaigning for several offices, Dr. Satheesh Kathula has been elected Vice President of AAPI, Dr. Meherbala Medavaram as the Secretary, and Dr. Sumul Raval as Treasurer of AAPI for the year 2022-23.

Dr. Kavita Gupta, Dr. Sunil Kaza, and Dr. Malti Mehta have been elected to AAPI’s Board of Trustees for a three-year term.

Dr. V. Ranga will serve as the Chair, AAPI Board of Trustees for the year, 2022-23. Dr. Pooja Kinkhabwala was elected President, AAPI Young Physicians Section (YPS), and Dr. Ammu Susheela will be the new President of AAPI- Medical Student/Residents & Fellows Section (MSRF).

“As the incoming President of AAPI, I would like to congratulate my incoming new team for the fiscal year 2022-23,” Dr. Ravi Kolli, who will assume charge as the President of AAPI during the 40th annual convention in San Antonio, TX in June this year, is quoted saying in the press release. “I’m very honored, and consider myself fortunate to be bestowed with the responsibility of leading the four decades old strong organization with the cooperation and collaboration of an excellent team of dedicated, hardworking, and loyal officers and executive committee members who are with me to take AAPI to newer heights,” he added. Dr. Kolli did not have to contest the election this year, as he has been serving as the President-Elect during the past year.

Dr. Anjana Sammadar, who has been serving AAPI as the Vice President in the current year also did not face elections, as she automatically becomes the President-Elect of AAPI for the coming year.

According to AAPI’s estimates, Indian-origin physicians in the U.S. serve 1 in every 7 patients in the country.

“Since its inception in 1982, AAPI has been in the forefront, representing a conglomeration of more than 100,000 practicing physicians in the United States, seeking to be the united voice for the physicians of Indian origin. I hope and wish that the new Team under Dr. Ravi Kolli will continue the noble mission and strengthen our efforts to make AAPI reach greater heights,” said Dr. Gotimukula.


The following are the Executive Committee and Board of Trustees & Regional Directors for the year 2022-23.


PresidentDr. Ravi Kolli
President-ElectDr. Anjana Samadder
Vice PresidentDr. Satheesh Kathula
SecretaryDr. Meherbala Medavaram
TreasurerDr. Sumul Raval
Immediate Past PresidentDr. Anupama Gotimukula
Chair, AAPI Board of TrusteesDr. V. Ranga
President, AAPI YPSDr. Pooja Kinkhabwala
President, AAPI MSRFDr. Ammu Susheela
Regional Director, Pacific RegionDr. Vandana Agarwal
Regional Director, Mountain RegionDr. Harnath Singh
Regional Director, NW Central RegionDr. Raghuveer Kura
Regional Director, SW Central RegionDr. Anil Tibrewal
Regional Director, NE Central-I RegionDr. Rama Medavaram
Regional Director, NE Central-II RegionDr. Suresh Sharoff
Regional Director, SE Central RegionDr. Pavankumar Panchavati
Regional Director, New England RegionDr. Saraswathi Muppana
Regional Director, Mid Atlantic-I RegionDr. Rakesh K, Mehta
Regional Director Mid Atlantic-II RegionDr. Hetal Gor
Regional Director, South Atlantic RegionTBA
Regional Director, South RegionDr. Vijay Maurya
Board of TrusteeDr. V. Ranga (Chair)
Board of TrusteeDr. Jagdish Gupta
Board of TrusteeDr. Raghu Lolabhattu
Board of TrusteeDr. Sapna Aggarwal
Board of TrusteeDr. Lokesh Edara
Board of TrusteeDr. Srinagesh Paluvoi
Board of TrusteeDr. Kavita Gupta
Board of TrusteeDr. Sunil Kaza
Board of TrusteeDr. Malti Mehta
Immediate Past BOT ChairDr. Kusum Punjabi
YPS Representative on BoardDr. Soumya Neravetla
MSRF Representative on BoardDr. Ayesha Singh





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here