Two Indian American professors honored by Kansas cancer research center

Dr. Prateek Sharma and Dr. Priyanka Sharma honored with endowed professorships at Kansas cancer research center March 22, 2023. Photo

Two Indian American members of The University of Kansas Cancer Center were formally invested with professorships on March 21, 2023. Dr. Priyanka Sharma and Dr. Prateek Sharma were awarded endowed professorships which “recognize the cancer center’s most productive faculty” and are made possible by generous donors, a press release said.

Priyanka Sharma, MD, professor in the Department of Medical Oncology at the University of Kansas School of Medicine and co-leader of the cancer center’s Drug Discovery, Delivery and Experimental Therapeutics research program, was invested with the Frank B. Tyler Cancer Research Professorship – A.

According to her accomplishments listed in the press release, Dr. Priyanka Sharma is a breast medical oncologist. anShe is a leading expert on triple-negative breast cancer.

She has dedicated much of her career to identifying more effective therapies to treat this aggressive subtype of breast cancer, the Center said. She serves as vice chair for the breast committee of SWOG (Southwest Oncology Group) and is a member of the SWOG Board of Governors and National Cancer Institute (NCI) breast cancer steering committee.

Prateek Sharma, MD, professor of medicine and director of GI Fellowship Training at the University of Kansas School of Medicine, was honored with the Elaine Blaylock Cancer Research Professorship. Dr. Prateek Sharma is a renowned gastroenterologist and scientist focusing on esophageal diseases, including cancer.

Currently, he is president-elect of the American Society for Gastrointestinal Endoscopy, serves as chair on the Esophageal Committee of World Endoscopy Organization and chairs the American Society for Gastrointestinal Endoscopy artificial intelligence task force.

Both professorships are appointed positions made by Roy Jensen, MD, vice chancellor and director of The University of Kansas Cancer Center.

“Drs. Priyanka and Prateek Sharma are outstanding leaders and experts in their respective fields,” Dr. Jensen said. “Through these endowed chairs, both can pursue more innovative ideas and create more interdisciplinary collaborations leading to advances in cancer care.”



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here