Rohit to lead India in T20s against Bangladesh as Kohli rests

FILE PHOTO: Cricket – ICC Cricket World Cup – Bangladesh v India – Edgbaston, Birmingham, Britain – July 2, 2019 India’s Rohit Sharma celebrates his century Action Images via Reuters/Andrew Boyers/File Photo

MUMBAI – Rohit Sharma will lead India for the Twenty20 internationals against Bangladesh at home next month with regular captain Virat Kohli rested for the three-match series, the country’s cricket board (BCCI) said on Thursday.

Kohli will, however, return to lead the side against Bangladesh for the two tests, starting from Nov. 14, with the hosts eyeing their 12th consecutive test series victory at home.

World’s top-ranked side India retained the squad that whitewashed South Africa 3-0 at homes recently. Kohli’s men lead the points table for the recently-launched World Test Championship, having scripted five wins in as many matches.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni continued to be out of the Twenty20 squad, raising questions on the long-serving wicketkeeper’s future in limited-overs cricket.

There has been speculation Dhoni might retire after struggling in the World Cup in England where India were knocked out in the semi-finals.

Subsequently he was left out of the squad for the limited-overs series against West Indies and South Africa.

Rishabh Pant has been earmarked as Dhoni’s successor but the 22-year-old has faced flak for letting the team down with his penchant for throwing away his wicket with rash shots.

India‘s selectors added Kerala wicketkeeper-batsman Sanju Samson, who has played a lone T20 in 2015, to the squad to keep the pressure up on Pant ahead of next year’s T20 World Cup in Australia.

“We’re looking at younger options after the World Cup, so you can understand our thought process,” chief selector MSK Prasad told reporters. “We definitely had a chat with Dhoni and he also endorses our view of backing youngsters.”

Mumbai all-rounder Shivam Dube earned his maiden call-up to the T20 squad with strong performances in domestic cricket.


T20 – Rohit Sharma (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Sanju Samson, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant, Washington Sundar, Krunal Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, Deepak Chahar, Khaleel Ahmed, Shivam Dube, Shardul Thakur

Test – Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Shubman Gill, Rishabh Pant



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here