Parmesh Bheemreddy sworn in as new president of American Telugu Association

Parmesh Bheemreddy

Indian American Parmesh Bheemreddy was sworn in as the president of the American Telugu Association (ATA) on Saturday, January 19, at the Venetian Hotel in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Bheemreddy played a key role as the convener for the success of the Philadelphia convention of ATA in 2014.

Along with Bheemreddy, who is based in Delaware, a new board of trustees was also installed at the meeting that was attended by a total of 150 delegates from across the country.

This year, ATA expanded its trustee board members to 31 from 27 following, of with 18 are: Arvind Muppidi, Satish Reddy, Venu Piske, Ravi Patlola, Madhu Bommineni, Sainath Boyapalli, Ramesh Nallavolu, Srinivas Dargula, Vijay Konduru, Venu Sankineni, Srikanth Gudipati, Hari Lingala, Sunny Reddy, Sai Sudini, Ramakrishna Reddy Ala, Anil Boddireddy, Rajeshwar Tekmal and Meher Medavaram.

The new trustees will be in place for four calendar years beginning 2019.

Also, Bhuvanesh Reddy Boojala from Virginia was chosen unanimously as president-elect. And he will serve as the president of ATA in 2021 and 2022.

In his presidential address, Bheemreddy vowed to preserve and strengthen the Telugu heritage in the U.S. and promised to further promote literary, cultural, educational, social and economic as well as religious activities of the community that are mentioned in the ATA constitution.

He unveiled the vision and action plan to be undertaken by the new committee under his leadership, which runs through 2019 and 2020.

Bheemreddy said that he wants to counsel the community on education, immigration, student jobs, free online SAT training, college education procedures, webinars on various topics, medical/dental camps for senior citizens and visitors, matrimonial services and emergency services.

The organization has also introduced an ATA Foundation Scholarship program for college students beginning this year where the ATA Foundation will pick 10 need based students and present them with $1,000 each.

The ATA has introduced a matrimonial service as well.

The ATA board also elected the executive committee members for the next two years with Parmesh Bheemreddy as president, Bhuvanesh Reddy Boojala as president-elect, Venu Sankineni as secretary, Sharath Vemula as Joint Secretary, Ravi Patlola as treasurer and Aravind Muppidi as Joint Treasurer.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here