Lalit Aery elected President of IALI

IALI members and guests at the annual General Body Meeting, in Long Island, New York, on December 22, 2018.

Lalit Aery was elected the new President of the India Association of Long Island (IALI), at its Annual General Body Meeting for 2018, on Saturday, December 22, at The Cotillion, in Long Island, New York.

There were more than 250 IALI members, along with several past presidents, who joined and enjoyed mingling and greeting each other.

Secretary Shashi Malik welcomed all the guests. Past President Satnam S. Parhar introduced President Gunjan Rastogi with his customary generous remarks. In her presidential address, Rastogi thanked the members for their participation and continued support throughout the year.

She highlighted the accomplishments of 2018 celebrating all IALI events with great attendance by the members, making 2018 a memorable year – the year in which IALI celebrated its 40th anniversary with great pomp and show.

India Fest, IALI’s marquee program was a grand success and was held outdoors after 10 years at the same location where India Fest started in 1990 – The Bar Beach (North Hempstead State Park). A short video clip of India Fest 2018 cultural program/highlights was screened and was enjoyed by the attendees.

Besides holding India Fest, IALI also celebrated Republic Day, Independence Day at the Nassau  County with 25 other organizations, a very successful annual fundraising gala and many programs in collaboration with other organizations like API-QLI, GOPIO and NIASSC to name a few.

IALI also donated $17K to the Interfaith Nutritional Network (INN) for Diwali food drive, $2,500 to ECHO for the Kerala Flood Relief Fund, 100 school children backpacks  to Nassau County schools and business professional clothing for men and women in need.

Rastogi declared that all her campaign promises were met and she did not have to run again for elections, whereas making room for the newly elected members.  She also informed the members from the surplus funds collected this year, two major projects for India Center are being accomplished – conversion of oil heat to gas heat and replacement with new energy efficient windows.

Election Chair Satpal Malhotra announced the results of the elections and the team for 2019, which is:

Officers – Lalit Aery – President; Shashi Malik – Vice President; Hargovind Gupta – Secretary; Rajeev Chaudhary -Treasurer.

Members-at-Large – Kuljeet Ahluwalia, Sushil Khanna, Jay Singh, Ramesh Gupta, Neeru Bhambri, Neelema Srivastava, Deepa Goyal, Ravi Kanta Verma.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here