India at Grammys 2024: Tabla maestro Ustad Zakir Hussain bags 3 awards, Mahadevan also wins

AR Rahman with tabla maestro Zakir Hussain – taking selfie after India won several Grammys Feb. 4, 2024. PHOTO: Instagram @arrahman

Ustad Zakir Hussain bagged three awards at the 66th Grammy Awards held Feb. 4, 2024, in Los Angeles. Music composer Shankar Mahadevan also won a Grammy for his work with Hussain.

At the Grammys when This Moment was declared a winner. PHOTO: X videograb @rickykej

India’s performance at the Grammy’s drew praise from Prime Minister Narendra Modi who posted a message on X, “CongratulationsZakirHtabla,@Rakeshflute,@Shankar_Live,@kanjeeraselva, and @violinganeshon your phenomenal success at the #GRAMMYs! Your exceptional talent and dedication to music have won hearts worldwide. India is proud! These achievements are a testament to the hardwork you keep putting in. It will also inspire the new generation of artists to dream big and excel in music.”

Renowned music composer A.R. Rahman uploaded a photo on Instagram and said,”It’s raining Grammys for India …Congrats Grammy winners #ustadzakirhussain @zakirhq9 (3grammys) @shankar.mahadevan (first Grammy) @kanjeeraselva (first Grammy ) 🇮🇳 🔥”


The tabla player and music composer Hussain picked up the coveted award in ‘Best Global Music Performance’ category for ‘Pashto.’

In his acceptance speech for ‘Pashto’ on behalf of Bela Fleck, Edgar Meyer, and Rakesh Chaurasia- his fellow musicians- the 72-year-old Mumbai born percussionist said, “Thanks to the Academy, thanks to all these great musicians for giving us beautiful music…our deepest thanks to our families…without them, we are nothing… without love, without music, without harmony, we are nothing.”

‘As We Speak’ in which the tabla maverick has collaborated with Fleck, Meyer and Chaurasia won the Grammy for the ‘Best Contemporary Instrumental Album’ category.

Announcing the win, Academy on X wrote, “Congrats Best Contemporary Instrumental Album winner – ‘As We Speak’ @belafleckbanjo, @zakirhtabla, @edgarmeyerjrft, @rakeshflute. #GRAMMYs.”

Shankar Mahadevan and another member of the band, Ganesh Rajagopalan receiving the Grammy for ‘Best Global Music Album’ on Feb. 4, for their latest album ‘This Moment’ produced by their band “Shakti.” PHOTO: X @RecordingAcademy

Hussain is also part of the Jazz group ‘Shakti’ that includes Shankar Mahadevan, which won ‘The best Global Music Album award for its latest album ‘This Moment’.

Taking to X, Grammys shared the post and wrote, “Congrats Best Global Music Album winner – ‘This Moment’ Shakti. #GRAMMYs.”

They were nominated for the Grammys, alongside artists like Susana Baca, Bokante, Burna Boy and Davido.

‘This Moment’ features 8 songs created by John McLaughlin (guitar, guitar synth), Zakir Hussain (tabla), Shankar Mahadevan (vocalist), V Selvaganesh (percussionist), and Ganesh Rajagopalan (violinist).

Zakir Hussain’s Grammy victory has enthused Indian fans, who celebrated the wins on social media.

In a post on X, music composer, Ricky Kej, who attended the ceremony, hailed Zakir Hussain and other artistes. “Ustad Zakhir Hussain, the living legend creates history by winning 3 Grammys in one night!!! Rakesh Chaurasia wins 2!! .. and I am blessed to witness it,” he wrote.

Kej tweeted the Grammy results on X:

Had an excellent time at the Grammys 🙂

For those of you who want to know.. here are the new Grammy Award Winners from India.. All superb musicians and some are living legends!

For Bela Flecks – As We Speak (2 Grammy wins) 1) Ustad Zakir Hussain 2) Rakesh Chaurasia For John McLaughlin’s Shakti – This Moment 1) Ustad Zakir Hussain 2) Shankar Mahadevan 3) Selvaganesh Vinayakram 4) Ganesh Rajagopalan

So a total of 5 WINNERS FROM INDIA And India Wins 8 Grammy Statues tonight. The Living Legend Ustad Zakir Hussain wins 3 Grammys in one night and creates history. Virtuoso flutist Rakesh Chaurasia wins 2 Grammys! Shankar Mahadevan, Selvaganesh Vinayakram & Ganesh Rajagopalan win 1 Grammy each.

Hussain and his collaborators, however, lost out in the ‘Best Instrumental Composition’ for which John Williams – Helena’s Theme picked up the Grammy.

Hussain, along with Fleck, Meyer and Chaurasia were nominated in this category for their ‘Motion.’

Young Zakir Hussain, featured on his Twitter account, is now 72. PHOTO X @ZakirHtable

The eldest son of tabla great Alla Rakha, Hussain is considered among the greatest table players of all time. Born March 9, 1951, he has received numerous awards throughout his life, including among the latest ones, 2023 DownBeat Critics Poll “Percussionist of the Year”, an award he also received in 2021 and 2022; 2023 Jazz Journalists Performance Award for “Percussionist of the Year”;  2022 Kyoto Prize Laureate in Arts and Philosophy; Aga Khan Music Award in 2022, to name a few.
He also received the Padma Vibhushan award from the Government of India.

Shankar Mahadevan was born March 3, 1967, in Mumbai. A music composer, he is known most for songs like Kal Ho Naa Ho, Dil Chahta Hai, and My Name is Khan. He has won several awards including Best Music Director, Best Background Score, etc.

In response to the congratulations posted by PM Modi, Mahadevan responded, “Thank you so much sir!! Your energy and hard work is our inspiration to create and perform music from our country and make India proud all over the world !! Love you sir . Bharat Mata ki Jai !”



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here