Hundreds of physicians gather for 26th Annual Convention of AAPI-QLI

Leaders of AAPIQLI with special guests pose for a photo at the December 17, 2022, 26th Annual Convention. From left, Dr. Abhay Malhotra – past president; Dr. Chuck Lucore – CEO, St. Francis Hospital; Bruce Blakeman – Nassau County Executive;
Dr. Vinni Jayam – president AAPIQLI; Dr. Patrick O’Shaughnessy – CEO, Catholic Health; Dr. Jagdish Gupta- Chair BOT; Dr. Jagat Rawal – chair, convention; Dr. Raj Jinna – president elect. Photo: courtesy AAPIQLI

The American Association of Physicians of Indian Origin Queens Long Island, AAPIQLI, celebrated its 26th Annual Convention at the Crest Hollow Country Club on Dec 17, 2022, under the leadership of President Dr. Vinni Jayam, and Convention Chair, Dr. Jagat Rawal.

A section of the audience at the Dec. 17, 2022, AAPIQLI 26th Annual Convention attended by more than 550 people. Photo: courtesy AAPIQLI

More than 550 people attended according to organizers. The Chief Guest was Dr. Patrick O’Shaughnessy, CEO of Catholic Health Services. Guests of Honor included Dr. Chuck Lucore, CEO of St. Francis Hospital and Nassau County Executive Bruce Blakeman, a press release from AAPIQLI said.

The attendees included physicians, entrepreneurs, community leaders, and industry leaders.

Attendees pose for a photo at the Dec. 17, 2022, AAPIQLI 26th Annual Convention. From left Dr. Abhay Malhotra, Dr. Patrick O’Shaughnessy, Dr. Krishan Kumar, Dr. Sudha Parikh, Padma Shri Dr. Sudhir Parikh, Dr. Tarun Wasil. Photo: ITV Gold.

“The presence of illustrious community leaders like Dr. Sudhir Parikh, Dr. Rap Anumolu, Nassau County Republican Party head and numerous state legislators made the event more memorable,” Dr. Jayam told Desi Talk.

Speaking at the event about AAPIQLI activities and accomplishments through the year, Dr. Jayam elaborated on the ‘Three Pillars’ – Educational, Service and Charitable endeavors, that underlie the initiatives that the organization undertakes.

AAPIQLI President Dr. Vinni Jayam along with other leaders of the organization, were joined by several New York State legislators and Nassau County Executive Bruce Blakeman, at the Dec. 17, 2022, 26th Annual Convention of the organization. Photo: courtesy AAPIQLI

Under the Service category, the organization created a Service Committee to oversee activities to encourage members to engage with their local communities. A number of blood donation camps, flu shot camps, and medical seminars were among the activities. “One of the biggest upshots has been the creation of a Mental Health Hotline,” Dr. Jayam said. “And the other crown jewel is the Annual Continuing Medical symposium Education,” held in Nov 2022, with illustrious speakers, he noted. The AAPIQLI also held a student medical research day to recognize outstanding students from New York State. For the first time a Mentorship Committee was formed to help students coming from India, with finding jobs, skills to apply, and even including legal counsel.

The Chief Guest Dr. O’Shaughnessy and the Guests of Honor Dr. Lucore, and Blakeman, during their speeches, praised AAPIQLI for work done. “They were amazed at the breadth of achievements of the organization,” Dr. Jayam told Desi Talk.

Dr. Richard Shlofmitz along with his wife Linda Schlofmitz getting the plaque recognizeing his work, at the Dec. 17, 2022, 26th Annual Convention of AAPIQLI which honored him. Photo: courtesy AAPIQLI

One of the highlights of the event was honoring some of the most accomplished physicians in the Greater New York Tri-state area. The Honorees this year were:

  1. Richard Shlofmitz, Chairman of Cardiology at St. Francis Hospital and Service Line Director of Cardiology for the Catholic Health.
  2. Meena Bansal, Professor of Medicine at Icahn School of Medicine and Director of Transplant Hepatology Fellowship and Translational Research in the Division of Liver Diseases at Mount Sinai Health center.
  3. Rohan Ramakrishna, Chief of Neurosurgery at New York-Presbyterian/Brooklyn Methodist Hospital & Weill Cornell Medical College.
  4. Bhavani Srinivasan, the Lifetime Service Awardee

The celebration included a dance performance by the AATMA Group with music by Dr. Biba Singh. Program was conducted by Dr. Sunil Mehra.

A dance performance by the AATMA Group with music by Dr. Biba Singh was one of the highlights of the Dec. 17, 2022, 26th Annual Convention of AAPIQLI. Photo: courtesy AAPIQLI

The AAPIQLI leadership praised the efforts of the team including – Dr. Jagdish Gupta, chair of the Board of Trustees; Dr. Abhay Malhotra, immediate Past President; Dr. Devendra Shrivastava, co chair, Dr. Venu Pall, co-chair; Dr. Raj Bhayani, media chair and others.

From left, Dr. Sudhir Parikh, Dr. Ashok Saha-chair of Head & Neck Surgery at Sloan Kettering, Dr. Mamata Saha, a pediatrician, and Dr. Sudha Parikh at the Dec. 17, 2022, AAPIQLI’s 26th Annual Convention held in New York. Photo: ITV Gold.

Dr. Sudhir Parikh, chairman of Parikh Worldwide Media told ITV Gold which covered the event, described the event as “a great gathering of doctors” from the greater New York area. He praised the organization for doing “great work.”

Dr. Bhayani also spoke to ITV Gold, as did Dr. Rupali Parikh, an addiction psychiatrist, and Hetal Gore, regional director of AAPI.

The AAPIQLI is a non-profit organization formed in June 1995, under the leadership of Dr. Narendra Hadpawat. The Inaugural dinner was held at Leonard’s of Great Neck, NY attended by about 150 physicians. Today AAPIQLI is the largest chapter of the national American Association of Physicians of Indian Origin.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here