Lions Club of Long Island celebrates annual gala dinner

From left, Gobind Bathija, Dr. Jagdish Gupta, Kanak Golia, Dr. Vinnie Jayam, Dr. Abhay Malhotra, Dr Inderpal Chhabra, Nena Chhabra, Dr. Wasil, Shyam Gajwani, Dr. Sunil Mehra, Indu Gajwani, Atul Pareek, Anju Sharma, Madhu Pareek, Nand Panjwani and Krishna Madipatla. PHOTOS: organizers

The Long Island Indo American Lions Club celebrated its 3rd Annual Gala Dinner June 30, 2024 at Pearl Banquet in Hicksville, New York.

The program was attended by dignitaries from Lions Club International District 20K2 Nassau County & Bermuda and also well-known community leaders and honorees, a prss release from .

Performers , Shyam Gajwani, Vijay Shah, Indu Gajwani, Yogini Oza and Dr. Oza

After cocktails and appetizers, Indu Gajwani, founder and president of the club welcomed guests and dignitaries. A Ganesh Vandana dance was performed to remove any obstacles in the way of the celebrations, by Group Macaulay Deewane members Khushi Oza, Anil Singh, Alisha Shah, Anjali Cherian, Staisa Bose, and Mariya Kooran.

Vice President of Lions Club Anju Sharma introduced Gala Chair Kanak Golia who thanked everyone for attending.

President of Indo Americans Lions Club of Long Island Shyam Gajwani.

Those present were shown a video of Lions Club projects and events under the leadership of Shyam Gajwani, such as collecting eyeglasses, blankets for veterans, food to the homeless, school supplies to needy children, Hygiene products distribution to the needy and donations given to cancer care association, cataract surgeries, etc.

From left, Komal Chhabria, Sanju Sharma, Preeti Jain, Harshad Sakaria, Pradeep Parikh, Paula Umreiko Past Council Chair, Maria Leitao Dist. Gov. Andy Umreiko PCC, Shyam Agarwal, President Shyam Gajwani, Narinder Kapoor, Anju Sharma, Sandeep Khatri, in the back Nimesh Shah and Indu Gajwani

Five individuals were honored for helping and supporting the community – Anil Shah, Kanak Golia, Krishna Maddipatla, Dr. Nirmal Khurana and Dr. Puranchandra Atluri.

The Prestigious Melvin Jones Award was presented to Aron Govil, Gary Sikka, Inderpal Chhabra, Jay Shah, Kiran Reddy, Mukesh Ranu, Nand Panjwani, Narinder Kapoor and Pradip Parikh.

Shyam Gajwani thanked members of the Executive committee and Gala Chair committee as well as others who helped make the event a success.

The program ended with a Bollywood Mash-Up dance by the group Macaulay Deewane and the dance floor was opened up for people to join.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here