Global Association Of Physicians Of Indian Origin announces 2020 awardees

Dr. Prathap K. Reddy, founder chairman of Apollo Hospitals Group, India, speaking in a video on ITV Gold, as part of the Global Indian Physicians COVID 19 Colaborative, April 13, 2020. (Photo: videograb from ITV Gold)

The Global Association of Physicians of Indian Origin (GAPIO) announced the winners of the annual GAPIO awards 2020. The award is given to individuals who have made noteworthy contributions to improving healthcare, a Feb. 9, 2021 press release from the organization said.

The award winners in the Distinguished Category are:

  • Pravin Agarwal (Mr Pravin Agarwal Foundation) for Dr. Prathap C Reddy Philanthropy award
  • Rohini Handa for the Dr. IA Modi Award
  • Navin Dang for GAPIO Excellence in Diagnostics Award
  • Maligail Ramkrishna Girinath for GAPIO Karl Storz Surgical Excellence Award
  • VS Natarajan for GAPIO Lifetime achievement award.

Each winner will be given Rs. 100,000, a citation and a trophy. Karl Storz will provide an endoscope to the winner of the Surgical Excellence Award.

Dr. Madan Mohan Reddy will receive the GAPIO Special Appreciation Award for his pathbreaking work in delivering orthopedic care including joint replacements in villages.

The award winners in Young Category are:

  • Sonali M Khobragade and Dr. Purvi Parikh (joint winners) for Dr. IA Modi Award
  • Nishat Hussain Ahmed for GAPIO Excellence in Diagnostics Award
  • Susovan Banerjee for GAPIO Excellence in Radiology/ Radiation Therapy Award
  • Bhavuk Garg for GAPIO Karl Storz Surgical Excellence Award.

Each winner will be given Rs. 50,000, a citation and a trophy.

Awards will be presented at the Global Indian Physicians Congress on 20th February 2021.

“The exemplary work by the awardees is an inspiration for others to emulate. The spirit of the physicians of Indian origin to excel in India and overseas is what we hope to recognize. There are countless examples of pathbreaking work across the globe that would make every Indian proud,” Dr. Prathap C Reddy,  founder president of GAPIO and chairman of Apollo Hospitals Group, is quoted saying in the press release.

“From supporting liver transplantation to pioneering cardiac surgery to establishing high end lab services to excelling in rheumatology to introducing geriatric care to performing complex arthroplasty in rural setting, the awardees represent the spectrum of path breaking achievements,” said Dr. Anupam Sibal,  president of GAPIO and Group Medical Director, Apollo Hospitals Group and Senior Consultant Pediatric Gastroenterologist and Hepatologist.

Remarking on the young physicians’ category, Dr. Nandakumar Jairam, vice president of GAPIO and CEO cum Chairman of Columbia Asia Group of Hospitals said, “The awardees in the Young category represent the aspirations of the Young Indian Physician who is willing to take on challenges to improve delivery of care, while excelling in academics and research.”

 Dr. Sudhir Parikh, Secretary General of GAPIO and Chairman and Publisher of Parikh World Wide Media and ITV Gold 24×7 TV Channel in USA said, “With a presence in 53 countries, GAPIO serves to establish collaborations, bringing 1.4 million physicians of Indian origin on one platform. In the coming year our activities will be enhanced to build a stronger well connected physician community.”

 (Visit for more information, or contact Dr. A K Tandon –; 9810204046)




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here