2nd Cinema4Screen festival, awards held in Mumbai

Satish B. Dhutadmal with his team after receiving the Best Short Film award. Photo: Amit Kumar

For a mere second year, and as the very first physical event (the inaugural year’s festival in 2021 was held online), it was a record. 371 films from 27 countries were entered for the 2nd International Film Festival organized by Cinema4Screen. The venue was the Prahladrai Dalmia Lions College, Mumbai.

Out of them, 50 films were selected and broadcast.  There were 18 categories in this film festival, in which the winning films were awarded. Subhash Chaturvedi, Ashish Kulkarni, Aparna Upadhyay, Rajdeep Sikdar, Jayant Roy, Sunil Gawai, Subhashini Naykar and Kalpana Rathore formed the jury members.  Festival Director Anshuman Choudhary, Cinema4Screen founder Kripa Ranjan Prasad, Sudipta Roy Choudhary, Amit Kumar and the members of Dalmia College played important roles in making this film festival (held over April 22 and 23) a success.

Due mention was made of the various sponsors, including Soundideaz Academy and Parikh Worldwide Media by Anshuman Chaudhary.

The winners in various categories were as follows, though most of them were not personally present in Mumbai. And many of these awards were in a tie.

Best Short Film—National: Lacchi-Dream Gives Strength to Live (Satish B. Dhutadmal) & Grajhya—To Embrace (Tridip Kakoty)

Best Short Film—International: My Mother’s Voice (Mourad Hamla from Algeria) & 3Some (Ahmed Zaraket from Lebanon)

Best Documentary: Bhumchu—The Drops of Eternal Life (Abanti Sinha) & Silent Emergency (Nitin V. Ganorkar)

Best Director: Sham Raut (Ittar) & Arun Pandari (Mary Magdalene)

Best Actor (Female): Sneha Ullal (Bhranti)

Best Actor (Male): Arghadeep Borua (Grajhya—To Embrace) & Bharat Shirsat (Ittar)

Best Supporting Actor (Male): Jayant Gadekar (Gajra)

Best Supporting Actor (Female): Dr. Bindu Jaiswal (The Monkey’s Paw)

Best Mixing & Sound Design: Debojit Gayan (Grajhya—To Embrace)

Best Music: Ashraf Manjeri (Malala Weeps Corona Go)

Best Editor: Jishnu Sen (The Monkey’s Paw)

Best Screenplay: Sreekanth S. (Mary Magdalene)

Best Visual Effects: Rahul Acharya (Ascension)

Satish B. Dhutadmal, who was present among the above winners, spoke in Marathi, thanked everyone who had selected his film for the honor, insisted on sharing the honor with his team members (three of whom were present) and explained how everything was done on a strict budget with his technicians doubling up as actors to create a simple film.

The jury members harped on the creative talents of the young generation and hoped that the Mass Media college students in particular, would soon match and eclipse the standard seen in the selected films.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here